My ADHD Mind-Part One of a Two Part Series

Domino
3 min readJan 4, 2023

--

Without medication and treatment this is my brilliant but ADHD mind in an evening.

Photo by charlesdeluvio on Unsplash

Thoughts zinging>No thoughts>Spaced out>Write a to-do list>Did I water my Canna Lilies?>Wash a load of laundry>No, I’ll do it tomorrow>Make phone calls>Did I write the name of that author down?>Oh look! The munchkins would love that!>I’m hungry>No food>Oh well…>That shirt would definitely go with those jeans!>Fuck! I need a charger for my laptop!>What was that ladie’s name again?>(Mood swing>Crying)>I’m a fuck-up!>I know I will find the right psychiatrist this year>My knee is throbbing>To-do list>Appointment for glasses>I need to make one>Did I tell what’s-her-name about that website?>Ugh, I’m tired>Gotta lay down>No, too much>No, not enough>Try brain exercises>Aww..Snapchat got a new lense>Brain-freeze>Overload of ideas>Why can’t I download Pinterest?>No time>I got all day>Hyper-focused>I want to do something>Can’t pinpoint what>Oh my God where’s my to-do list?>I’m cleaning this apartment in one go>No distractions>I’m only going to focus>But I can’t focus>I’m so easily distracted>I can’t eat>Only hyper-focus>Can’t pee yet either>Only hyper-focus>Did I cross off that one thing on my list?>Did I write my list yet?>What thing?>Do everything!>Just stop>Keep going>Damn, my phone is off>I thought the 11th was when my bill was due?>or the 8th?>It’s only the 2nd>Where’s my phone?>Oh look, my laptop is working…>I’m sooo freaking hungry>that looks like a good movie>Oh my gosh, wait!>Where is my off button?>Erase all my messages>No, save all my messages>I want to do something but wha-a…>Oh, man I finally got Amazon!>Did I send the munchkins their stuff?>God I love you so much! Please forgive me please>Humbly I ask thee>No Facebook this year>Not even the app>Maybe Marketplace and Messenger though>Let me check out TikTok real quick>Shit, I have to go to the grocery store!>What time is it?>MIDNIGHT! Wtf?!>What happened?>Sit down Missy>No you have to go check the dryer!>For what?>The Cannas need re-soiled>When?>Next day…>I pray…

The Hippocratic Oath

“I swear to fulfill, to the best of my ability and judgment, this covenant: I will respect the hard-won scientific gains of those physicians in whose steps I walk, and gladly share such knowledge as is mine with those who are to follow. I will apply, for the benefit of the sick, all measures [that] are required, avoiding those twin traps of overtreatment and therapeutic nihilism. I will remember that there is art to medicine as well as science, and that warmth, sympathy, and understanding may outweigh the surgeon’s knife or the chemist’s drug. I will not be ashamed to say "I know not," nor will I fail to call in my colleagues when the skills of another are needed for a patient’s recovery. I will respect the privacy of my patients, for their problems are not disclosed to me that the world may know. Most especially must I tread with care in matters of life and death. If it is given me to save a life, all thanks. But it may also be within my power to take a life; this awesome responsibility must be faced with great humbleness and awareness of my own frailty. Above all, I must not play at God. I will remember that I do not treat a fever chart, a cancerous growth, but a sick human being, whose illness may affect the person’s family and economic stability. My responsibility includes these related problems, if I am to care adequately for the sick. I will prevent disease whenever I can, for prevention is preferable to cure. I will remember that I remain a member of society, with special obligations to all my fellow human beings, those sound of mind and body as well as the infirm. If I do not violate this oath, may I enjoy life and art, respected while I live and remembered with affection thereafter. May I always act so as to preserve the finest traditions of my calling and may I long experience the joy of healing those who seek my help.”

--

--

Domino

I look around me and see others who are in love with words and wisdom just as much as me. So I've decided to stay. Thank you.. Passion+Progression=Writer